Here are just a few resources students who do not speak English as a primary language may find useful...
WEB SITES
Dave's ESL Cafe <http://www.pacificnet.net/~sperling/eslcafe.html>
Created by Dave Sperling, an ESL Instructor at California State University at Northridge, this site provides a wealth of information related to teaching or learning English as a second language. Includes a Discussion Center, a Quiz Center, an Idiom Page, and a Help Center.
. The ESL Center <http://members.aol.com/eslkathy/esl.htm>
Links to many Web sites for grammar; exercises; pronunciation and conversation; reading and writing; newspapers and magazines; televsion, cable, and radio sites; vocabulary and word games; business English; dictionaries; and travel resources.
Internet English Resources <http://www.iei.uiuc.edu/student_internet_res.html>
Links to ESL resources on the Web for grammar, listening/speaking, pronunciation, reading, writing, vocabulary, and other collections of Web links.
DICTIONARIES
Foreign Word <http://www.foreignword.com/Tools/transnow.htm>
Search 178 dictionaries. Translate from 63 source languages into 64 target languages - over 300 language combinations.
YourDictionary.com <http://www.yourdictionary.com/index.html>
Provides a portal for language and language-related products and services with more than 1800 dictionaries in 250 languages
The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms AURARIA LIBRARY REF PE1460 .O94 2004
Dictionary of American Slang AURARIA LIBRARY REF PE2846 .D457 2007
And just in time for the upcoming American elections...
Hatchet Jobs and Hardball: the Oxford dictionary of American political slang
AURARIA LIBRARY REF PE3727 .P6 H38 2004
PRONOUNCING GUIDES
Easy Pronounciation (audiobook) Living Language
This downloadable audiobook from Netlibrary may be accessed via the Auraria Library catalog. It has over 6 hours of pronounciation instruction. The Auraria Library does not own a large number of recorded books on language instruction so you may also want to check out your local public library for other types of sound recordings.
WRITING GUIDES
OWL Handouts in Outline Form <http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/index.html>
From Purdue University's Writing Lab, this site functions as a Web-version of an English grammar handbook.
TOEFL STUDY GUIDES
Here are just a few of the study guides available in the Auraria Library...
Longman preparation course for the TOEFL test : next generation iBT / Deborah Phillips. Ref; LIB USE ONLY ; PE1128 .P46176 2005
400 must-have words for the TOEFL [electronic resource] / Lynn Stafford-Yilmaz, Lawrence J. Zwier. Internet; ONLINE ; PE1128 .S734 2005eb
Delta's key to the next generation TOEFL® test : advanced skill practice / by Nancy Gallagher. Media, Ref PE1128 .G24 2004
MORE BOOKS 
To locate more books in the Auraria Library catalog, try subject headings such as English language Study and Teaching foreign speakers or English language Textbooks for foreign speakers
Books in Languages Other than English
..and sometimes students need to take a break from English...
Using the "Find A Book" line on the Auraria Home Page, type in the title, author, or subject to be requested and hit "go". When a list of titles appears, use the limit/sort button and pull down language menu to select works in a language other than English. If a book is not owned in the Auraria Library, hit the Search Prospector button to see if you can order it from another Colorado library. If not, interlibrary loan service is available.
News and Newspapers in Languages Other than English
Here are some databases you may want to try...
Internet Public Library: Newspapers
User-friendly access to newspapers from around the globe
Kidon Media-Link: 19306 newspapers and other news sources, Kidon Media-Link
Links to 19,306 newspapers from almost every country and territory of the world
LexisNexis® Academic: News
Provides news coverage from major world newspapers in Dutch, French, Italian, Spanish, German, and other languages.
SoftLine - ENW Ethnic Newswatch
Spanish-English coverage includes a minority slant on the news and the "other side of the story"
|