skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Class Guides » Class guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
BIO 1091 - General Biology Lab II

The starting place for your research in library databases should be a specific and narrow research question. Look at the terminology used in published articles that relate to your topic and use those terms for your searches.

Be flexible! Revise your search to find new information. Follow the references in one article and the links to new "citing" articles to track down related research.

Article databases and Indexes Each of the broad subject categories list some unique databases and many that overlap. Read the database descriptions to select the appropriate tools.
Biology databases BIOSIS is the online Biological Abstracts database. Library subscription includes 1995 to current. Use print Biological Abstracts for pre-1995.
Chemistry databases Scifinder Scholar to access Chemical Abstracts, ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals, Wiley InterScience
Science databases This broad "catch all" category covers many of the databases listed elsewhere. Science Direct is an excellent database for articles in areas of biology and many of them are full text.
Medicine Medline is the primary database for research in the medical fields.

Search strategy

Select meaningful search terms and combine them with AND or OR in the search fields of the database you select. Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and other articles to find good terms to search.

AND narrows a search: evolution and bacteria
OR casts a wider net: (evolution or evolutionary or diversity) and (bacteria or viruses)

Finding the Article

Many scholarly journal articles are not full text online. Others may be available full text, but not through the database you are using. Use Goldrush and Skyline to determine availability of the article. Some journals are only available online, these will be indicated in Skyline (example). Other journals are only available in the library. These are on the first floor Periodicals area.

  • Links within the database. Most databases have a GR Linker (to Goldrush). Others, such as SciFinder, have their own link for finding full text. Click on these links to search for full text.
  • Goldrush - provides links to databases that index or have full text of the journal.
  • Periodical Title search in Skyline - local journal holdings and online links if available.
  • interlibrary loan- If the library does not have access to the article, use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy. The article will be mailed to you.

Books

Skyline - Search for items in Auraria Library
Prospector - Search for books in local libraries (quick delivery).
WorldCat - Books and media available worldwide. Free delivery (1 - 2 weeks) is available.

Reference books and annual reviews can be valuable resources for gathering background information. Browse Skyline by keyword for specific topics or limit broader topics by the type of item.

Subject Headings

Evolution
See also   Evolution (Biology)

--subdivision Evolution under individual animals and groups of animals and under individual organs and regions of the body, e.g. Mollusks Evolution , Cattle--Evolution; Fishes--Evolution; Heart--Evolution You can also do these as keyword searches!

Other terms to consider are diversity and genetics. example: biological diversity

 

Image reproduced with permission of Rieko Nakamura and Toshihiro Anzai. Information about this work is at: http://www.renga.com/renga.htm

 

 
end of page