skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

marketing
 
Marketing (general)

This is a sample of resources available in Auraria Library and on the Internet for doing research about marketing.  You may choose to use this suggested action plan in other libraries as well, because some of the resources listed here can be found in other libraries.

Below are links that will direct you to a list of resources on the databases & indexes page. Articles provide the most timely information and in the marketing field it is very important to get the latest information. Database selection can determine the quality of search results. Try different databases, read the descriptions provided and inquire at the reference desk if you are not sure which to use.

Article databases  
 
Marketing primary databases: Business Source Premiere, Associations Unlimited, business and Company Resource Center
Business primary databases: same as above plus Colorado Newsstand, General Business File ASAP, EDGAR-SEC Filings
Education major databases: ERIC, Education full text
Psychology primary databases are PsycInfo, ScienceDirect
 

Choosing a Topic

Browse the Library's collection of business materials to help in selecting a topic. Information about marketing can be found in several collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents, media and book collections and under different subject areas. Books shelved on the second floor can be checked out.  Within each collection area, library materials are arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to a subject. Library materials in business and other areas related to marketing are typically assigned the following call numbers:

  • BF Psychology
  • H  Social Sciences (General) 
  • HB-HC  Economics
  • HD  Management, Land Use, Industry, Labor
  • HE  Transportation, Broadcasting
  • HF  Commerce, Marketing, Accounting
  • HG  Finance, Insurance, Investments 
  • HJ  Government Finance
  • HM-HX  Sociology

Please also note that most of the library materials are located and arranged first by type of materials, and then by call numbers.  Normally a book will not provide the most up-to-minute information on a subject, but it can be very useful when you  want considerable background information on your topic.

For a more specific approach, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings, or ask reference librarians for more information.

Books  
 
Encyclopedias specialized encyclopedias in many areas of marketing
Dictionaries list of marketing dictionaries in Skyline
Call number area HF- marketing HF 5415
 

Books are accessed through the Auraria Library catalog, Skyline, using an Author search (for authors, other  individuals, and corporate entities listed as authors, i.e. United States, Department of Health and Human Services),  a Word search (for subjects such as public health, or health administration ), or a Title search (for titles of books). A Periodical Title search will help you locate magazines, journals, or newspapers that we own such as B to B, Brandweek, or Psychology and Marketing.

Prospector: the Colorado Unified Catalog   Use Prospector to determine which major Colorado library may own a particular book. You can order the book if it is available at another library.

NetLibrary A database of online, full text books.

Tip:   You may use ILL (Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that Auraria Library doesn't own. You may use WorldCat to request books, dissertations, video recordings and other materials that Auraria doesn't own and that you cannot find in Prospector.

Tip: If you are searching on the Internet, remember the Library search tips and think about the reliability and accuracy of the information.

TARGET MARKET - Demographic Data

Demographic data is of key importance in market research, where markets are often segmented by such variables as age, sex, income, marital status, race, and family size. To start you research find the SIC and NAICS code for your industry. The resources listed below can help you do your marketing plan.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)  --  Replaces SIC, however, many databases still use SIC , so you will need to use both systems in some cases. Finding the code for your product will make your research easier.    REF DESK HF 1042 N6 & GOVPUB PREX 2.6/2:IN 27/ 

SIC Manual GOVPUB C3.6/2:IN2/2/987 & REF HA40 .I6U63

NAICS/SIC Correspondence Tables

2000 Census

STAT-USA   -- Market research and other domestic and international economic information

American Factfinder
--  From the 1990 Census - an excellent place for demographic data

The Right Site -- Demographics and marketing data from all over the U.S.  Includes TV marketing areas.

Data on the Net
  -- From UC-San Diego, a database of web sites.

Population Reference Bureau
-- Data from a non-profit organization

Colorado State Data Center

Colorado by the Numbers

Documents Center  -- University of Michigan -- Provides an excellent, extensive, annotated list of demographic information available on the web.  Includes international.

Statistical Universe
 -- Database available through Auraria Library.  Provides references to statistics of all types.

Statistical Abstract of the United States -- a favorite place to find statistics on a wide variety of topics.

Market Share Reporter   REF HF5410 .M35   Market share data.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys REF HC 106.6 S74

Encyclopedia of American Industries REF HC102 .E53 (Ready Reference). This is a set that includes related volumes on Emerging and Global industries.  

CONSUMERS - Print Resources

Lifestyle Market Analyst - SRDS ( REF HC106 .8 .L5) Preliminary market analysis by geography or demographics with extensive lifestyle information (hobbies, interests, activities, etc.)

SRDS (REF HF5905 ...call number varies ) Source books for information on advertising in different media.

MediaMark Product Reports ( REF HF5415 .3.M43) --  Indicates ownership or use of particular products.  Data broken out by various demographic and economic factors. Also provides information on which magazines are read and television programs watched by owners of particular products. 

Americas Market & Mediafact (Ready REF HC94 A1 A5)

Market and MediaFact Books. (Ready REF HC240 .A1 E889 ).  Provides costs of advertising and lifestyle demographics in non-U.S. countries.

TRENDS AND DEMOGRAPHICS

The Community Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics   and ... County Demographics
REF HA203 .S66  & REF HA203 S65  These two sources give demographic profiles for the county and zip code levels. The demographic characteristics include population (also growth rates), employment, housing, income, and purchasing potential. Business statistics are also provided for each level.

County and City Data Book U.S. Bureau of the Census.
GovPub, 2nd FL, REF HA 202.A 36; C 3.134/2:C 83/2/ and computer file. A wealth of information is presented on states, counties, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2,500 or more. Includes population/vital statistics breakdowns, housing, serious crime, commuting, education, labor force, income, wholesale, retail, services, and agriculture. Ranks counties and cities in selected characteristics such as bank deposits, income, etc. 

County and City Extra: Annual Metro City and County Data Book Gov Pub, REF HA203 .C68  Mirrors the information in the government published County and City Data Book but with more up-to-date data. State And Metropolitan Area Data Book. GovPub, C 3.134/5:  Presents data for metropolitan areas, central cities, and states. Contains statistical data on population/vital statistics, health, education, crime, housing, land/water use, pollution, labor force, income, top wealth holders, government, science, agriculture, construction, manufactures, transportation, energy communications, wholesale, retail, and services. Includes ranking of states and metropolitan areas by selected subjects.

Statistical Abstract of the United States U.S. Bureau of the Census, 1878- . REF HA202 .A2 (behind the reference desk, in GovPub Ref., and available online http://www.census.gov/stat_abstract/ /) This valuable source abstracts and indexes statistics from both government and private sources. Statistics reported are demographic, social, environmental, governmental, and business including finance, construction, manufacturing, retail trade, etc. Each statistical table references the original government report or private source.

MANUFACTURING AND DISTRIBUTION SOURCES

2000 Census  

Thomas Register
  (requires registration, but is free) REF T12 .T6

Census of Manufacturers GOVPUB C 3.24/8:MC

Directory of Colorado Manufacturers REF T12 .C6 (Ready Reference)

American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory REF HF5415.7 .A54

Ward's Business Directory REF HG 4057 .A575 - ranks sales by NAICS & SIC

Million Dollar Directory REF HC102 .D8

FINANCIAL RATIOS 

Almanac Of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios. Annual. REF DESK HF5681.R25 A45

Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios. Annual. REF DESK HF5681.R25 I525

Moody's Industry Review. Annual.  REF HG4501 .M66

RMA Annual Statement Studies. Annual.  REF DESK HF5681.B2 R6 

INTERNET RESOURCES

Yahoo: Business and Economy   http://www.yahoo.com/Business

Gallup Organization   http://www.gallup.com/

Guerrilla Marketing   http://www.gmarketing.com

Lii.org (Librarians' Index to the Internet) is a well maintained source of quality web sites in many subject areas.

SEARCH ENGINES

Hotbot  -- A good place to start if you're not used to search engines  -- it has a powerful, but easy to use menu system.  (http://www.hotbot.com)

Google --  A good search engine with good coverage.  Better for users with some experience  (www.google.com)

Dogpile   -- A metasearch engine that lets you type one search on multiple search engines.  (www.dogpile.com)

 
end of page