This Guide consists of recommended resources for finding Information
on nonprofit organizations, sectors, and business practices available
in Auraria Library and on the Internet. It also suggests a research
strategy or plan of action you can follow while looking for information
on a topic. You may choose to use this suggested strategy in other
libraries as well, since some of the resources listed here will
be found in other libraries.
CHOOSE YOUR TOPIC
Remember that it's important to choose a topic which is interesting
to you and appropriate to the time available.
Looking through the Library's collection of non-profit materials
may help you decide on a topic. Information can be found in several
collections, i.e., reference, periodicals, government documents,
media, and book collections. Books shelved on the second floor can
be checked out. Within each collection area, library materials are
arranged and located by call numbers. The call number refers to
a subject. Most of the library materials in the areas of international
business, and other related areas are assigned the call numbers
as listed:
HD62.6 Non-profit management
HD2769.15 Non-profit industry
HD 8039.N65 Non-profit employees
HF5656.N56 Non-profit accounting
HG4027.65 Non-profit finance
HV41.9p Fundraising
back to top
Find Articles
The most current information on non-profit business topics, as
well as historical information, can frequently be found in magazine,
journal, and newspaper articles, which tend to deal with more specific
topics than books cover.
Business
& Economic Databases -- Many of these databases will
lead you to full text articles and article summaries related to
non-profit management practices, sectors, and specific organizations.
Of particular interest are the databases listed under the headings
Recommended Starting Points for Many Business Topics and
International. Also of particular interest:
PAIS International
-- Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents
from journals, books, government publications, and other resources.
1972 - present.
Philanthropic Studies
Index -- This searchable index to literature on voluntarism,
nonprofit organizations, fundraising, and charitable giving supplies
citations from articles. From 1991-1999 coverage.
The "Find
Articles" Guide provides information about locating journals
and magazines.
IF AURARIA LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE THE LIBRARY MATERIALS YOU NEED,ASK
AT THE REFERENCE DESK. The Reference Desk can often help you
locate other suitable information on your topic.
back to top
Identifying Non-Profit Organizations:
Online & Print Directories
The American
Society for Association Executives.
Associations Central.
America's New Foundations.Rockville, MD: Taft Group.Annual.REF
HV87 .A6.
Associations
Unlimited --Directory of more than 400,000 state, regional,
U.S. and international organizations and associations. Also available
as multi-volume set in print on the Quick Reference shelves near
the Auraria Library reference desk under the title Encyclopedia
of Associations.
Directory of Colorado Nonprofits.Colorado Association of
Nonprofit Organizations (CANPO).CANPO members can also be searched
by name or pulled from an alphabetical list on their
Web site. REF HG4057 .C64
Guide To U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, And Donors.
Compiled by the Foundation Center.New York: The Center, Annual.
REF AS911.A2 F64
GuideStar -- Directory of more than
700,000 non-profit organizations. Search by name, keyword,
category, location, or revenue.
The Internet Public Library's
Associations on the Web -- Collection of over 2,000 Internet
sites providing information about a wide variety of professional
and trade associations and other non-profit organizations.
Public Interest Profiles. Washington, D.C.: Foundation for
Public Affairs.Annual. REF JK1118 .P8
Think Tank Directory: A Guide To Nonprofit Public Policy Research
Organizations. 2nd edition. Government Research Service, REF
H50.T54
back to top
Books and Government Publications
Auraria Library Online Catalog -- Use the
Library online catalog (Skyline) to locate specific books and government
publications at the Auraria Library.
To find books on topics related to running nonprofits in the Library
do a 'Word' search in Skyline, using the word 'nonprofit'
combined with another keyword, such as:
Nonprofit boards or Nonprofit accounting or Nonprofit
management
Prospector:
The Colorado Unified Catalog -- Use Prospector to determine
which major Colorado library may own a particular book. Also
use Prospector to order books not owned by or check out at the Auraria
Library.
WorldCat
-- This database contains records of nearly every library in the
United States, and many foreign libraries.
NetLibrary
-- This is a database of online, full text books. Other eBooks.
Tip: Link to the Guide Find
Books and Other Material to learn how to find and request
materials that are not available at Auraria Library.
- Use ILL
(Interlibrary loan) to order journal and magazine articles that
Auraria Library doesn't own and you cannot locate in Skyline or
Prospector.
- Use WorldCat to request
books, dissertations, videorecordings and other materials that
Auraria doesn't own
back to top
Non-Profit Management: Reference Materials
and Web Pages
Colorado Association of Nonprofit Organizations
-- Includes directory of nonprofits, access to help desk, legislative
updates and more.The public can visit their Nonprofit Library that
contains information files on CANPO members, publications, journals,
magazines and newspapers specific to the nonprofit sector. The library,
at 225 E. 16th Ave., Suite 1060, in downtown Denver (on
16th Ave. between Sherman and Grant), is generally open
from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Call ahead to ensure
that the library is not in use.Phone: (303) 832-5710 or call toll-free
in Colorado (800) 333-6554.
Nonprofit Charitable Orgs
-- This page, listed on About.com, has numerous articles and links
to a wide variety of nonprofit topics, including information on
how to form a nonprofit corporation, job guidance and listings,
accounting advice, and ideas for fundraising.
Nonprofit Corporation Forms Handbook.New York, N.Y.: Clark
Boardman Co., 1991 KF1388.A65 K57
Nonprofit Law Dictionary. New York: Wiley, 1994. KF1388.A68
H66
Nonprofit Online News: News of the Online
Nonprofit Community -- News digest from The Gilbert Center updated
daily.
Nonprofit Start-Up Packet -- Information
about starting a nonprofit in Colorado. Request online from CANPO
at no charge under the Resource Center heading.
Nonprofit World: The National Nonprofit Leadership and Management
Journal.Location: PER Bound Collection HD62.6 .N69; Latest issues
in alphabetical order on current journal shelves in Periodicals
Reading Room.
Organization Charts: Structures of 230 Businesses, Government
Agencies, and Non-Profit Organizations, 3rd edition. REF
HD38 .O738 2000
Philanthropy Journal -- An online newspaper
that reports on philanthropy and the nonprofit world.
back to top
Finding Jobs With Non-Profit Organizations
Find
a Job Page at Nonprofit Charitable Orgs --Links to sites that
offer nonprofit job ads as well as tips and advice related to applying
for work in the nonprofit sector.
Job Book. This listing of current job openings in Colorado's
nonprofit sector is maintained by the Colorado Association
of Nonprofit Organizations (CANPO) and can be found at
225 E. 16th Ave., Suite 1060, in downtown Denver (on
16th Ave. between Sherman and Grant).Visitors are welcome
to stop by anytime Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
to see the Job Book.Call before go to make sure that our office
is open to the public when you wish to stop by. Phone: (303) 832-5710
or call toll-free in Colorado (800) 333-6554
Jobs And Careers With Nonprofit Organizations: Profitable
Opportunities With Nonprofits. Manassas Park, VA: Impact
Publications,1999. REF HD2769.2.U6 K7 1999
back to top
Taxation and Accounting for Non-Profits
CCH Tax
Research Network -- Full text federal and state tax
information including cases, regulations, and rulings.
Accounting and Taxation Databases --
Link to a number of accounting and taxation databases in the Auraria
Library's "Business and Economics" subject guide.
Click on the link for "Accounting and Taxation" on the
top of the page.
CPA Examination Review: Accounting And Reporting, Taxation,
Managerial, And Governmental And Not-For-Profit Organizations
New York: John Wiley.Annual. REF HF5661. C7227
Tax-Exempt Organizations: Organizational And Operational Requirements.
Steven D. Simpson. Washington, DC: Tax Management Inc., 2000.
REF KF6289.A1 T35 v.869
Tax-Exempt Organizations: Reporting, Disclosure And Other Procedural
Aspects. Steven D. Simpson. Washington, DC. REF KF6289.A1 T35
v.870-2nd
Unrelated Business Income Tax.Carla A. Neeley Washington, D.C.:
Tax Management. REF KF6289.A1 T35 no.874
back to top
Funding for Non-Profits
America's New Foundations. Rockville, MD : Taft Group.
Annual. REF HV87 .A6
Colorado Grants Guide. Denver: Community Resource
Center. Annual. REF HG177.5.U62 C64
Directory Of Program Grants: A Reference Directory Identifying
Program Grants Available To Nonprofit Organizations. Loxahatchee,
Fl: Research Grant Guides, 1999.
Finding Funders from The Foundation
Center
Foundation 1000. NY, NY: The Foundation Center.
Annual. REF HV97.F65 F67
Foundation Directory. NY, NY: The Foundation Center.
Annual. REF AS911.A2 F65
The Foundation Grants Index. NY, NY: The Foundation Center.
Annual. REF AS911.A2 F66
Guide To Federal Funding For Governments And Nonprofits
Arlington, VA: Government Information Services. Annual.REF HJ275
.F4
Philanthropy News Network Online -- The
mission of PNN Online is to "deliver news, information, and resources
to all segments of the nonprofit world in order to help them better
achieve their goals."
Who Gets Grants: Foundation Grants To Nonprofit Organizations.New
York, N.Y.: Foundation Center, 1998.REF HV97.A3 W46
back to top
Associations of Note
Association for Research on Non-Profit
Organizations and Voluntary Action. (ARNOVA)
Colorado Association of Nonprofit Organizations
(CANPO)
BoardSource: Building Effective Non-Profit Boards
Society for Nonprofit
Organizations (SNPO)
back to top
Explanation of Location Codes
REF = Reference Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk
REF DESK = At the Reference Desk
INDEX = Index Stacks on Main level near Reference Desk GOVPUB
= Stacks on Main level near Government Publications office GOV
PUB CD-ROM = In the CD-ROM Cluster by the Government Publications
Office on Main level
PERIOD = Periodicals Department Main Level, Most Recent Issues
in Current Periodicals
|