skip navigation Auraria Library Home
You are here: Home » Find it » Subject Guides » Subject guide
books, articles, databases, government information etc your library account, borrow from other libraries etc. library hours, phone, departments etc. subject help, technical help, faq etc

 
ebooks and digital repostitories

An ebook has the full-text of a book available for reading online. (For information about available collections of audiobooks, digital downloads, and podcasts click here. )

eBooks via the Library's Catalog: Skyline  
 

In addition to access through the ebook websites below, thousands of ebooks are accessible through the Library's catalog. To pinpoint those ebooks:

  • Use the Find a Book search on the Library's homepage.

  • Search as you would for a print book, i.e. title, keyword, whatever you wish.

  • Once the search is complete choose the Limit/Sort button at the top of the page and limit your search to Location: Internet.

  • Note that you may also pick up a stray website or two - but the ebooks should be obvious.

Multidisciplinary and Reference  
 
Google Book Search. (Google) To locate full-text books online, not just excerpts, do an advanced search and choose to search 'complete books only.' Note that sometimes 'samples only' are still retrieved.
NetLibrary. (OCLC) Provides access to Auraria Library's largest purchased collection of e-books - more than 16,000 of them. Also includes a small collection of digital audiobooks.
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts. (Eric Lease Morgan)
Books on the Internet. (University of Texas at Austin).
Digital Book Index. This index is intended as a "Meta-index" since it searches most major eBook sites as well as thousands of smaller specialized sites.
Gale Virtual Reference Library. (GVRL). (Thomson-Gale). GVRL is a database of scholarly multidisciplinary encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. The e-reference sources in the collection represent numerous topic areas including: Biography, Biology/Life Sciences, Business, Career Overviews, Chemistry, College Data, Communication, Country Overviews, Criminal Justice, Drug-Use, Earth Science/Environment, Education, Film, Law, Literature, Health and Medical Topics, Multi-Cultural Studies, Psychology, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion, Science and Technology, Social Issues, Social Sciences, U.S. and World History. Click on ‘Title List’ at the top right of the GVRL opening page to view the specific titles that comprise the collection.
Great Books Online (Bartelby.com).
Internet Archive. IA is a non-profit venture founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format, including text and media resources.
Internet Public Library. (From the University of Michigan)
Munsey's. (Previously Black Mask) More than 20,000 ebooks in multiple formats. Free!
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
Project Gutenberg (The grandfather of ebooks!)
On-line Books Page (John Mark Ockerbloom)
Best Places to Get Free Books: The Ultimate Guide - From Friedbeef's Tech. This site lists both audiobooks and text only books. A mixture of great and marginal recommendations.

 

Literature and History
 
AS@UVA Hypertexts. (University of Virginia)
Online Children's Stories. (University of Calgary)
Complete Works of William Shakespeare. (MIT)
Electronic Text Archives and Plays Online.
eServer Drama Collection.
Internet Classics Archive. (MIT)
Making of America. (University of Michigan)
Oxford Text Archive. (Oxford University)
Perseus Project (Tufts University)
Wright American Fiction. A collection of 19th century American fiction. Texts are browsable by author and word. Also includes advanced search capablities.

 

Science and Medicine
 
FreeBooks4Doctors.
Knovel Library (Knovel)
An extensive collection of reference eBook titles in science and engineering. Content includes data handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, monographs, conference proceedings and datasets. Many of the reference works are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools for data analysis.
National Academies Press.
PubMed Bookshelf. (National Library of Medicine)

 

Digital Repository Search Sites
OAIster. (From the University of Michigan) An enormous collection of freely available, previously difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone.  Digital resources include: electronic books, online journals, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mpeg, quicktime), and reference texts (e.g., dictionaries, directories).
OpenDoar: The Directory of Open Access Repositories. OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

This symbol indicates a resource available only to students, staff & faculty of the Auraria Campus both from on and off campus.

 

 

 

 
end of page